Calling all Senior Trainees and Junior Consultants


Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
Melbourne, Australia

9:30am to 5pm

New Zealand

Cliftons Auckland
Auckland, New Zealand

11:30am to 7pm

This exciting preceptorship program, running on Monday, 14 November 2022, aims to cover surgical and medical oncology, as well as translational science as aspects of the study of Stage IV colorectal cancer.

On the day

For the first time, the Preceptorship will run in a dual-hub format: one in Melbourne, Australia and another in Auckland, New Zealand. Both hubs will be brought together via Zoom during discussions.

  • Preceptors will nominate 3 to 5 seminal papers in their specialty.
  • Preceptees are tasked with reviewing these papers and preparing cases. Nominated Preceptees will present on the day.
  • Preceptors will provide comment on papers and on clinical cases during the workshop.

We would like our members and committees to encourage attendance at this Preceptorship for their trainees.


Topics discussed on the day will include:

  • Diagnostic/molecular markers
  • Resectable metastatic disease with curative intent
  • First-line and maintenance treatments in unresectable mCRC
  • Subsequent line options and novel therapies

Partnering with the ASM

Preceptees are invited to attend the 24th AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, 14–17 November 2022. Known throughout Australasia as the premier meeting in the GI cancer space, the ASM provides an innovative platform to engage members with new research concepts, trial developments, panel discussions and Q&A sessions.

Should Preceptees wish to attend the AGITG ASM in its entirety, scholarships are available.

View all scholarships here

Travel sponsorships are also available for AGITG Members.

Applying for membership to the AGITG is free – join today.

Join the AGITG

Meet the Preceptors


Associate Professor Jeanne Tie

Convenor, Australia

A/Prof Jeanne Tie is the lower gastrointestinal medical oncology and trials lead at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, and senior research fellow in the Personalised Oncology Division at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research. Her translational research focusses on personalising treatment for patients with colorectal cancer with prognostic and predictive biomarkers, in particular the clinical applications of circulating tumour DNA (ctDNA).

She leads several ctDNA-based randomised clinical trials in colorectal cancer which aim to assess the clinical utility of ctDNA as a minimal residual disease marker to guide adjuvant treatment decision. She has published extensively in the field of colorectal cancer and serves or has served on the Australasian Gastrointestinal Trials Group (AGITG) Scientific Advisory Committee and Lower GI working party (Deputy Chair), Cancer Adjudication Committee for the ASPREE (Aspirin in Reducing Events in the Elderly) International study, ESMO (European Society for Medical Oncology) Gastro-Intestinal Tumours Faculty and ESMO Asia Congress Gastrointestinal Track Co-Chair.

Dr Chris Jackson

Convenor, New Zealand

Dr Chris Jackson is a medical oncologist at Southern DHB and a senior lecturer in medicine at the University of Otago. He was medical director of the Cancer Society from 2015 to 2021. During his time with the Cancer Society he was a prominent and vocal advocate for people affected by cancer, highlighting the post-code lottery of cancer care, leading the campaign for a national cancer agency, and an advocate for improved access to cancer services and treatments.

He now serves on the advisory council of Te Aho o Te Kahu, and is the chair of Te Aho’s clinical assembly. His research interests are in quality and access in cancer care, cancer services, and in drug development having led early phase studies of Oraxol.

Dr Derrick Siu

Assistant Convenor

Dr Derrick Siu is a medical oncologist at the Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District and a research fellow at the NHMRC Clinical Trials Centre. Dr Siu is actively involved in GI cancer research.

Dr Sarah Maloney

Assistant Convenor

Dr Sarah Maloney is an up-and-coming researcher and the co-chair of the NEO-IMPACT pancreatic cancer clinical trial. She was part of the Early Career Researcher consultation group at the AGITG Strategic Review Workshop.

Australian Preceptors

Dr Cori Behrenbruch

Dr Cori Behrenbruch is a CSSANZ-trained colorectal surgeon at St Vincent’s Hospital and the Royal Melbourne Hospital. Dr Behrenbruch has published a number of clinical and scientific papers.

Dr Michael Christie

Dr Michael Christie MBBS FRCPA PhD is a specialist anatomical pathologist with extensive experience in diagnostic and translational molecular pathology, including gastrointestinal pathology. He leads the Royal Melbourne Hospital Molecular Genetics department.

Professor Chris Karapetis

Professor Chris Karapetis is Network Director for Cancer Services in the Southern Area Local Health Network of Adelaide. He is also Head of the Department of Medical Oncology and Director of Clinical Research in Medical Oncology at the Flinders Medical Centre.

Dr Genni Newnham

Dr Genni Newnham is a medical oncologist and the Director of Prevocational Training at St Vincent’s Hospital. Her primary clinical interests include gastrointestinal and lung cancers, and the patient experience.

New Zealand Preceptors

Dr Sanjeev Deva

Sanjeev is a New Zealand trained medical oncologist who specialises in looking after patients with gastrointestinal cancer. Sanjeev established the Auckland Clinical Trials Centre at Auckland Hospital and is currently the facility’s medical director and principal investigator, working on ground breaking studies and collaborating with some of the country’s top researchers.

Dr Deborah Wright

Dr Deborah Wright is a General and Colorectal Surgeon. Deborah completed her undergraduate medical degree in the UK, before relocating to Aotearoa New Zealand in 2003. She undertook training in General Surgery and a PhD in the molecular biology of colorectal cancer in AoNZ, followed by sub-specialty training in colorectal surgery. Deborah is a member of the Lower GI Working Party and convenor of the Neoadjuvant Treatment in Rectal Cancer Idea Generation Workshop.