John Zalcberg AO Award for Excellence in AGITG Research

This Award recognises a member of the Australasian Gastro-Intestinal Trials Group (AGITG) who has made a significant and outstanding leadership contribution to AGITG research over a sustained period.

Nominations may recognise the contributions of investigators, research staff and lay members of the AGITG including consumers.

The recipient will receive a complimentary registration to attend the 2024 AGITG ASM and an opportunity to deliver an address (up to 10 minutes) at the Meeting, highlighting appropriate aspects of their area of interest, with the option to also be published in abstract form on the AGITG website and in the AGITG Annual Report.

Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible, nominees must:

  • Have made a significant and outstanding leadership contribution to AGITG research over a sustained period
  • Be an AGITG member
  • Be nominated by two AGITG members

The successful Nominee will be announced at the 2024 AGITG ASM Gala Dinner.

Closing Date

Submissions will close on Monday 9 September 2024, 9:00am AEST. For any questions about the Award, please contact

About John Zalcberg

Professor John Zalcberg AO was a founder and past Chair of the Board of the AGITG. He served in the Chair role for over 18 years until May 2014.

He was the Director, Division of Cancer Medicine, at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre in Melbourne, Australia for 17 years prior to recently taking up the position of Professor of Cancer Research at Monash University.

After earning a Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery from the University of Melbourne and a PhD in cancer immunology, he served as Director of Medical Oncology at the Heidelberg Repatriation Hospital and as Director of Cancer Services at the Austin and Repatriation Medical Centre.  

He was a founder of the Lorne Cancer Conference and a past Board Member of Cancer Trials Australia. He is the current Co-Chair of the Cancer Drugs Alliance and Interim Chair of the Australian Clinical Trials Alliance.  A past Board Member of the NSW Cancer Institute, past President of the Clinical Oncological Society of Australia, and a past Member of the Consultative Council of the Victorian Cancer Agency, he has received a Medal of the Order of Australia Award (OAM), the 2011 Cancer Achievement Award from the Medical Oncology Group of Australia, is the recipient of the 2014 Tom Reeve Award awarded by the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia and in 2023 he was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia (AO).

Professor Zalcberg’s clinical research interests include gastro-intestinal cancer and health care outcomes. He has published more than 230 articles in peer-reviewed journals. He was a Principal Investigator for the EORTC advanced GIST trial in Australia and continues an active involvement in trials in this disease as well as other GI cancers. He continues an active clinical practice in GI cancer.