Congratulations to winners of the 2023 AGITG awards

At the 25th AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting, held in Christchurch between 13–16 November 2023, members recognised for their contribution to GI cancer research were presented with the AGITG awards. View all award winners below.

Award winners

John Zalcberg OAM Award for Excellence in AGITG Research

The John Zalcberg OAM Award for Excellence in AGITG Research was presented to Associate Professor Haryana Dhillon in recognition of her significant and outstanding leadership contribution to AGITG research over a sustained period. A/Prof Dhillon joined the AGITG in 1996 and is also a leading figure in the Psycho-oncology Co-operative Research Group (PoCoG). She is currently Co-Chair of the AGITG trial OXTOX, and was Principal Investigator of the AGITG endorsed trial CHALLENGE.

Member Fundraiser of the Year Award

The Member Fundraiser of the Year Award was presented to Associate Professor Andrew Dean, in recognition of his patient, Chris Reichstein. A/Prof Dean referred Chris to the GI Cancer Institute during his treatment for stomach cancer, and Chris then left a generous donation to our research.

Innovation Grant

The Innovation Grant was presented to Dr David Liu for his research concept titled, “Multi-omics evaluation of peritoneal fluid in gastro-oesophageal cancer: A prospective trial to develop a sensitive assay to detect clinically occult peritoneal metastases (OMEGCA)”.

Outstanding Site Awards

This year, the Outstanding Metropolitan Site Award was brought home by the St John of God Subiaco Hospital, WA.

The Outstanding Regional, Rural and Remote Site Award was presented to the Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District Cancer Centre, NSW.

Early Career Researcher Award

The Early Career Researcher Award was presented to Dr Dmitrii Shek, who received up to $2,000 to pursue further education.

Christine Aiken Memorial Award for Excellence in AGITG Study Coordination

The Christine Aiken Memorial Award was presented to Kate Hunter, who received up to $2,000 towards professional development.

Best New Concept

The Best New Concept Award winner was Dr Alex Flynn for her concept, Randomised Phase 3 Trial of personalized versus standard dosing of 5-fluorouracil in first line chemotherapy for metastatic colorectal cancer.

The Runner-Up for Best New Concept was jointly awarded to:

  • A/Prof Andrew Dean for his presented concept, Immunotherapy – Biliary neoplasm, OXaliplatin, Fluorouracil, Folinic acid, nal‐Irinotecan ChemothErapy for late / advanced tumours A randomised, phase 1b study (i-BOXOFFICE)
  • Prof Tim Price for his presented concept, FOLFOX and nivolumab combined with Pressurized intraperitoneal aerosol chemotherapy: Phase 2 trial in advanced gastric carcinoma (PIPAC).

Thank you to AstraZeneca for supporting the New Concept Symposium in 2023.

Best Poster

The Best Poster was awarded to Dr Avraham Travers for Investigating Peripheral CD8+ T cell Tolerance in Colorectal Cancer.

The Runner-Up for Best Poster was awarded to Dr Natalia Vukelic for GPX2 loss sensitises colorectal cancers to radiotherapy and chemotherapy.

Thank you to Amgen for supporting the Best of Posters in 2023.